Second annual session of the Peacebuilding Commission 23 June 2015

Guidelines for the participation of

Member States, Institutional Donors, regional organizations,

civil society organizations and the academia

Background:

- 1. The modalities¹ agreed by the Organizational Committee (OC) of the Peacebuilding Commission (PBC) for convening the annual session stipulates that participation will include: Member States of the Committee; representatives of the countries on the agenda; members of country configurations; institutional partners; a representative of the Secretary-General; regional and local actors; and civil society organizations.
- 2. The following guidelines propose

- 7. In this connection, seating priority in CR 12 will be determined according to the following categories/criteria:
 - a. Members of the Organizational Committee (priority given to participation of Capital-based officials)
 - b. Representatives of the Countries on the agenda (priority given to participation of Capital-based officials)
 - c. Chairs of the PBC configurations that are <u>not</u> members of the Organizational Committee (priority given to participation of Capital-based officials)
 - d. Institutional partners: European Union, International Financial Institutions, Organization of Islamic Cooperation (priority given to participation of HQ-based officials)
 - e. Relevant UN senior officials (priority given to Assistant Secretary-General/Director level seniority)
 - f. Relevant civil society representatives/academia (with prior approval by the OC)

8. For all the above categories, <u>pre-registration with the Peacebuilding Support Office no</u> <u>later than Friday, 12 June, is required</u>.

- 9. Participants according to the categories listed in paragraph 7, but who are <u>neither</u> represented by Capital/HQ-based officials nor pre-registered with the Peacebuilding Support Office by Friday, 12 June can only be accommodated on "first-come first-seated basis", subject to availability of non-reserved seats.
- 10. Members of the PBC country configurations who are not members of the Organizational Committee can register for participation in the two working sessions. However, **priority** of participation will be given to members who are represented by **Capital/HQ-based officials** and are **pre-registered** with the Peacebuilding Support Office (Ms. Maria Morgan at morgan2@un.org) by Friday, 12 June.
- 11. Attendance will be limited to **one** head of delegation + **one** advisor for participants who are represented by Capital/HQ-based officials. For all other participants, attendance will be limited to **one** delegate.
