## Background

The Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC) was established by Security Council resolution 1373 (2001), which was adopted unanimously on 28 September 2001 in the wake of the 11 September terrorist attacks carried out in the United States. The Committee (which consists of all 15 Members of the Security Council) was tasked with monitoring implementation of resolution 1373 (2001), which requests States to implement a number of measures intended to enhance their legal, institutional and operational abilities to counter terrorist activities at home, in their regions, and around the world.

H.E. Mr. Tarek Ladeb, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Tunisia to the United Nations, was appointed Chair of the Committee on 25 September 2020.

The Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED) was established by the Council as a special political mission of the United Nations, tasked with assisting the Counter-Terrorism Committee in monitoring Member States' implementation of resolution 1373 (2001) and other relevant counter-terrorism resolutions. Acting on the Committee's behalf, CTED conducts on-site country assessments visits, with the consent of the host State, to identify progress made and remaining challenges in addressing threats posed by terrorists to international peace and security. The findings of the assessment visits also form the basis for technical assistance and capacity-building projects delivered by partner entities.